2019 Bios Specialty Boards & Academies Awardees

In alphabetical order by Specialty Boards & Academies

Clinical Child & Adolescent Psychology

Awardee: Lynne M. Covitz, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Lynne Covitz has served the Board of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology in many capacities. She is a past president and since her term of service ended has remained active in the mission and goals of the board. She continues to mentor examinees, conduct examinations, facilitate informational meetings on becoming board certified, and provide examiner training.​

Clinical Health Psychology

Awardee: Richard J. Seime, PhD, ABPP

ABCHP and ACHP recognize Dr. Richard “Rick” Seime for his exemplary service and leadership, particularly as ABCHP’s President. He enhanced collaboration between CHP organizations, promoted the refinement of ABCHP competencies, and contributed to a successful PCR. Dr. Seime leads with warmth, humor, and a commitment to excellence; he inspires new leaders to engage in ABCHP’s work. We celebrate all of his efforts to elevate the CHP specialty and are grateful for modeling exceptional leadership.

Clinical Neuropsychology

Awardee: Anthony Stringer, PhD, ABPP

The American Academy of Clinical Neuropsychology (AACN) and American Board of Clinical Neuropsychology (ABCN) express their sincere gratitude to Dr. Anthony Stringer for his many years of service on behalf of the field of Clinical Neuropsychology. In addition to several years of service as an ABCN work sample reviewer and oral examiner, Dr. Stringer served on various committees during his nine-year tenure as a member of the ABCN Board of Directors. He actively promoted ABCN certification among applicants from diverse backgrounds, played a critical role in reviewing prospective specialists’ applications, was involved in promoting the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) process among eligible specialists, and was instrumental in developing a revision of the ABCN written examination. He served as ABCN Vice President (2013-2015) and President (2015-2017), and in addition to his ongoing service to ABCN as Past President, Dr. Stringer has graciously agreed to serve as an AACN workshop contributor, providing regular informational seminars to promote ABPP board certification in Clinical Neuropsychology among prospective specialists at the annual AACN meeting. Dr. Stringer also brought much-needed diversity to the ABCN community as he was the first African American to ever attain board certification and to hold the position of ABCN President. The AACN and ABCN communities are very grateful to Dr. Stringer for his unyielding commitment to Clinical Neuropsychology; the field has benefited greatly from his many years of service! 

Clinical Psychology

Awardee: Leslie (Skip) E. Montgomery, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Leslie Montgomery is nominated for his extensive service to the American Board of Clinical Psychology. Dr. Montgomery served on the Board as the National Exam and Practice Sample Coordinator for 12 years. In this role he shepherded hundreds of candidates through their practice sample submissions. Additionally, he served on over 50 Examination Committees locally and nationally. Throughout his work with the ABCP board, he was well loved for his warmth, candor, collegiality, and team spirit. 

Counseling Psychology

Awardee: Adrienne M. Barna, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Barna has served the American Board of Counseling Psychology as a strong leader as our long-time Oral Examination Chair, and member of the Periodic Review Committee that led to our strengthening our Oral Examination process. Dr. Barna went above and beyond her role by returning when invited to train future Oral Examination Chairs. We are in her debt. 

Couple & Family Psychology

Awardee: Terence Patterson, EdD, ABPP

Dr. Terence Patterson has served as an outstanding ambassador for couple and family psychology throughout his 10 year period on the Board. He has mentored many candidates, provided key history and review during our recent PCR, and consistently served as a warm, welcoming host in his home and a wonderful guide during our San Francisco meetings. We are grateful for his visionary leadership, commitment to excellence, and collaborative approach.

Forensic Psychology

Awardee: James Eisenberg, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Eisenberg has offered over 30 years of service to the Academy and Board. He first served on an oral exam committee in 1988 and since then, has reviewed over 60 sets of practice samples and conducted approximately 80 oral exams. He served on the ABFP Board of Directors as Corresponding Secretary from 2004 to 2011 and his current term on the faculty began in 2011 and ends October 2019. He has also presented at AAFP Workshops, most recently in February 2019.


Awardee: Victor A. Moninari, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Molinari’s has made significant and sustained contributions to the American Board of Geropsychology. His leadership and many outstanding contributions have established the ideal to which others aspire.


Awardee: Stanton Marlan, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Marlan has faithfully served our board and academy, serving in various capacities including President, Academy Coordinator, and BoT representative.  In all of these roles, he has conducted himself with the utmost integrity, always advocating passionately on behalf of psychoanalysis and psychology. 

School Psychology

Awardee: Israel A. Sarasti, PhD

Our Board can think of no one more deserving of this award than Dr. Israel Sarasti, who serves as Vice President/Secretary, credentials reviewer, and the Early Career Psychologist representative. His work on the examination manual and service on exam teams has been invaluable. He keeps all of us motivated and inspired. He is a practicing bilingual school psychologist and doctoral internship training coordinator for the Miami Dade County Public Schools.